top of page


Wheathampstead Wanderers was formed in 1990 by a small group of families from the village to promote and support youth football for the benefit of children and young people in Wheathampstead and surrounding areas. Starting as a single team there were three or four the following season and we just kept on growing. Today we are an FA Charter Standard Club, granted in 2008, with over 500 boys and girls playing football plus a men's and ladies team.

In those early days the teams played at the village primary schools, Beech Hyde and St Helens, before setting up home at Butterfield Road around 1993. We now also have playing fields and an astroturf pitch available at Marford Road.

The ethos of our founder members remains. We desire to create a positive environment based on mutual respect, a sense of fair play and good sportsmanship, rather than a “win-at-all-costs” attitude. We will be magnanimous in victory, dignified in defeat


Miles Briggs

Vice Chairman
Matt Grinyer

Club Membership & Admin
Kathryn Briggs

Steve Whittle


HDL League Secretary (U7-U11)

Gerry Morgan


HGFPL League Secretary (Girls)

Karen Standen


FA Charter Standard Coordinator

Gareth Moors

West Herts Youth League Secretary (U12-U18)
Miles Briggs 

Welfare Officer
Al Ware

Facilities Officer
Aaron Grey

Kit & Equipment Officer
Gerry Morgan


Fundraising Officer

Sam Brooks


FA Secretary

Sam Berg


Football Development Officer

Aaron Grey

bottom of page